Ruling Majority to Chair 16 Parliamentary Committees, Opposition Gets 14

Total Croatia News

Screenshot | Nova TV
Screenshot | Nova TV

Screenshot | Nova TV

 ZAGREB, July 20, 2020  – Branko Bacic, the head of the 66-strong Croatian Democratic Union (HDZ) parliamentary group, said on Monday after meeting with Opposition MPs that the  HDZ would chair 16 parliamentary committees and the remaining 14 would be chaired by the Opposition.

Bacic expressed satisfaction with today’s meeting at which he informed the elected MPs about the work schedule of the 10th 151-seat national legislature and the distribution of chairpersons.

Of the three Croatian Parliament delegations, the delegations for NATO and the Council of Europe will be led by lawmakers from the ruling majority and the delegation to the OSCE Assembly will be headed by a representative of the Opposition.

Bacic said that the distribution of the duties and the makeup of the parliamentary committees were similar to those of the previous parliament, the only change being that the Agriculture Committee will be chaired by the majority whereas the European Affairs Committee will now be chaired by the Opposition.

The 10th parliament is due to hold its inaugural meeting on Wednesday, with Bacic saying that it would be definitely sitting this and next week.


Subscribe to our newsletter

the fields marked with * are required
Email: *
First name:
Last name:
Gender: Male Female
Please don't insert text in the box below!

Leave a Comment