Croatian Bank for Reconstruction and Development to Get New Leadership

Total Croatia News

Personnel changes coming to the Croatia’s state-owned development bank as well.

Supervisory Board of the Croatian Bank for Reconstruction and Development (HBOR) held its inaugural session on Friday and decided to announce a competition for the position of the new president and the members of the Board of Directors, reports on April 2, 2016.

The news was confirmed by Economy Minister Tomislav Panenić. The call should soon be published in the Official Gazette and on the HBOR website and it will be opened for 10 days. The Supervisory Board was constituted without the three members that should have came from members of Parliament, since Parliament has not appointed them before the Easter break which will last until 13 April.

Asked why was the Supervisory Board constituted prior to the appointment of the MPs, Panenić answered that this was only a constitutive session and added that the new Board of Directors would not be chosen until the Supervisory Board is fully staffed. “The candidates will not be chosen until we have all the members of the Supervisory Board”, Panenić reiterated.

The meeting was attended by six of the seven members whose other posts automatically make them members of the Supervisory Board. Agriculture Minister Davor Romić (MOST) was absent, but Panenić explained that his absence did not mean that MOST had any objections regarding the session. He added that Minister Romić had to go to an agricultural fair opening in Bjelovar.

According to the Law on HBOR, the Supervisory Board consists of ten members, six of which are ministers. Another member is the President of the Croatian Chamber of Economy, while Parliament appoints the three members from among the deputies.

On 4 March, the government appointed Finance Minister Zdravko Marić as the new president of the Supervisory Board. The new Deputy Chairman is Economy Minister Tomislav Panenić, while other members are Regional Development and EU Funds Minister Tomislav Tolušić and ministers of tourism, agriculture, and entrepreneurship Anton Kliman, Davor Romić and Darko Horvat.

Current chairman of the Board of Directors is Dušan Tomašević, while members are Martina Jus and Goran Filipić. If the new head of HBOR is selected during the competition, that will be the third change at the helm of the Bank in the last two years.


Subscribe to our newsletter

the fields marked with * are required
Email: *
First name:
Last name:
Gender: Male Female
Please don't insert text in the box below!

Leave a Comment