Unofficial Sources: HDZ and SDP Reach Agreement on Constitutional Court Judges

Total Croatia News

It seems that constitutional crisis will be avoided after all.

Unofficial sources among members of the Parliamentary Committee on Constitution claim that on Thursday afternoon an agreement was reached between HDZ and SDP on the appointment of ten constitutional judges. Parliament could vote on them as early as Friday, reports on June 2, 2016.

Before the plenary session of Parliament, the list of candidates will be officially proposed by the Parliamentary Committee on Constitution.

According to sources, two current judges will be re-elected, Snježana Bagić and Mario Jelušić. Other members of the HDZ’s group of candidates are: Supreme Court judge Branko Brkić, HDZ’s member of Parliament Davorin Mlakar, and attorney Miroslav Šumanović.

Opposition’s five candidates are: SDP’s members of Parliament Josip Leko and Ingrid Antičević-Marinović, president of the Zagreb Administrative Court Andrej Abramović and two attorneys, Lovorka Kušan and Rajko Mlinarić.

Constitutional judges are elected with a two-thirds majority, which means they need the support of at least 101 MPs. The Committee will submit a list of 10 candidates, which is exactly the number of judges being elected, so there will be no secret ballot.


Subscribe to our newsletter

the fields marked with * are required
Email: *
First name:
Last name:
Gender: Male Female
Please don't insert text in the box below!

Leave a Comment