Rectors of Six European Coastal Universities Meet in Split

Total Croatia News

Updated on:


Established in 2020, the SEA-EU alliance comprises six universities – the University of Cádiz (Spain), Université de Bretagne Occidentale in Brest (France), the University of Kiel (Germany), the University of Gdańsk (Poland), the University of Malta (Malta), and the University of Split (Croatia).

The Rector of the University of Split, Dragan Ljutić, said that the purpose of the meeting was to launch a joint programme of studies and ensure the acquisition of a joint diploma.

“‘Six universities, one diploma’, that is our common denominator because we are all located by the sea. These are maritime universities and the education of our students is primarily related to the sea. Each of these universities is linked to the sea,” Ljutić said.

He said that the six universities were expanding their influence and that many universities from cities by the sea, not just the Mediterranean, but the Atlantic and beyond, wanted to join this alliance.

The Mayor of Split, Ivica Puljak, said that this meeting was very important for the city because the modern scientific world would be characterised by the unification of and cooperation between universities.

For more news, CLICK HERE.


Subscribe to our newsletter

the fields marked with * are required
Email: *
First name:
Last name:
Gender: Male Female
Please don't insert text in the box below!

Leave a Comment