Historic Night for Croatian Football at Fifa’s Ballon d’Or

Total Croatia News

Luka Modric first ever Croatian player on the FIFA FIFPro XI 2015 Team Of The Year

This year’s Ballon d’Or award ceremony, held at the Kongresshaus in Zurich on January 11, 2016, was a great night not only for the world’s best football players but also for Croatia. For the first time in the history of this award, a Croatian player, Luka Modrić made it to the FIFA FIFPro XI 2015 Team Of The Year as one of three best midfielders in the world.

We all know what fierce competition Modrić had to beat and here is the world’s best team: Manuel Neuer as the best goalkeeper, Dani Alvez, Sergio Ramos, Thiago Silva and Marcello as best defenders, Iniesta and Paul Pogba as Modrić’s fellow midfielders and Neymar, Cristiano Ronaldo and Lionel Messi as best forwards. 

Leo Messi was, of course, the star of the evening winning his fifth Ballon d’Or, but two Croatia’s 2Cellos stole the show with their spectacular opening number.


Photos: FIFA official Twitter



Subscribe to our newsletter

the fields marked with * are required
Email: *
First name:
Last name:
Gender: Male Female
Please don't insert text in the box below!

Leave a Comment