Seven Stars Awarded to Croatia Airlines!

Lauren Simmonds

Of the other airlines flying into Croatia, Ryanair and Norwegian both received a lower than four star rating.

As Josip Bohutinski/VL/Poslovni Dnevnik writes on the 9th of October, 2018, the Republic of Croatia’s national airline, Croatia Airlines, has been awarded seven stars by the the international Airline Ratings agency.

In addition to airline security, the respected agency evaluates an air company’s overall product offer, and Croatia Airlines being awarded the highest possible safety rating of seven stars comes as a welcome piece of news for the recently emburdened airline.

As far as airline security is concerned, the method in which that is graded is in accordance with five criteria.

The first is the IATA (International Air Transport Association) air carrier’s IOSA certification, which is an internationally recognised and accepted system for the assessment of the operating systems of the airline’s management and control system. Registration for the IOSA certificate and its audit are not actually required, therefore an airline which doesn’t hold this certificate either failed to undertake a review, or simply decided not to participate in it.

In obtaining this particular certificate, three stars are earned. The second criteria which needs to be fulfilled is whether or not the airline is on the European Union’s blacklist, and the third criteria is a positive response to whether or not the airline has been involved in an accident in the last decade in which lives were lost. If the company is not on the EU’s blacklist and did not have a casualty crash, it earns one star for each of these criteria. The next critera on the list is whether or not the airline company has the permission of the United States Federal Aviation Authority. If it does, it earns yet another star.

The last critera relates to whether or not the country in which the air carrier is registered fulfills the ICAO safety parameters. The International Civil Aviation Organisation (ICAO), among a few others, sets standards and regulations for aviation security.

If the state meets the aforementioned organisation’s parameters, the airline registered in that country gets one star. Seven stars for security were also awarded to Air Serbia, and the Slovenian company Adria Airways was awarded six stars. Adria failed to receive the final star for the criterion of meeting the ICAO safety parameters. According to Airline Rating agency, Slovenia has only three out of eight of these criteria. Montenegro’s Montenegro Airlines received just five stars, because it does not have the permission of US aviation authorities, and Montenegro only meets four of the eight ICAO criteria.

Of the other airlines flying to the Republic of Croatia, two low cost airlines; Ireland’s Ryanair and Norwegian, received a lower than four star rating. Lufthansa, British Airways, KLM, Austrian Airlines and Emirates, for example, also all received seven stars, and Air France, Turkish and FlyDubai earned six-star ratings because they have all been involved in air accidents in which dead occurred over the past decade.


Click here for the original article by Josip Bohutinski/VL for Poslovni Dnevnik


Subscribe to our newsletter

the fields marked with * are required
Email: *
First name:
Last name:
Gender: Male Female
Please don't insert text in the box below!

Leave a Comment