Furlan and Sagirova – Winners of the 40th Faros Marathon

Total Croatia News

Winners of the 40th Faros Marathon (Croatian International Long Distance Swimming Championships) are Matteo Furlan from Italy and Aygul Sagirova from Russia.

Furlan swam the 16 km long race in 3 hours 8 minutes and 26 seconds, while Sagirova´s time was 3 hours 21 minutes and 22 seconds. That means, that records (Alexander Studzinski 3:01:55 in 2009 and Christine Jennings 3:04:09 in 2013) remain unbeaten this year.

(photo: Faros News FB page)faros2

The official results are still not out, but according to Slobodna Dalmacija, the King of the English Channel Michael Read fulfilled his dream of swimming the Faros Marathon and at 74, he ended his carrier being a great inspiration of this year´s competition.
The 40th Faros Marathon welcomed Evelin Sohl for the 10th time and the legendary Irene van der Laan was swimming her 22nd Faros this year.
These are the end results from the official Stari Grad town website:
1. Matteo Furlan (Italy)
2. Volodymyr Voronko (Ukraine)
3. Duje Milan (Croatia)
1. Aygul Sagirova (Russia)
2. Lenka Sterbova (Czech Republic)
3. Alexandra Sokolova (Russia)




Subscribe to our newsletter

the fields marked with * are required
Email: *
First name:
Last name:
Gender: Male Female
Please don't insert text in the box below!

Leave a Comment