Top 5 Must-See Sites in Sućuraj

Daniela Rogulj

Sućuraj is a picturesque small town on the east cape of the island Hvar. It is about 5 kilometers from the Dalmatian coast and 77 kilometers from the popular Hvar town.

In an effort to get you out and about to take advantage of the crown jewels each town on Hvar island has to offer, today we bring you the 5 sites you won’t want to miss visiting in Sućuraj.


Parish Church of St. George: Built in 1897, the Parish Church of St. George was built in neo-Romanesque style, lied out in the shape of a cross. The main altar of the church is dedicated to St. George, from whom the town gets its name (San Giorgio in Italian). In the front yard of the church one can still see the foundations of the old church which was also dedicated to St. George. It is unknown when the old church was built, but there is mention of it in the Bylaw of the city of Hvar in 1331.


The Franciscan Monastery: Most likely built in the 9th century, the monastery was Augustinian at first and today is Franciscan – it is also the oldest preserved building in Sućuraj. A the entrance gate of the monastery there is a sign that reads: “The monastery of the Brothers of the Order of St. Augustine rebuilt in 1309” (translated from Latin).The monastery was destroyed and rebuilt many times with the last renovation in 1994. There is a rectory in the monastery with an archive of important documents, and in the monastery treasury there is a large roman mosaic found on its grounds.


St. Anthony’s Church: Built in 1663, St. Anthony’s Church was built by refugees fleeing the Ottomans in the 16th and 17th century. In addition to the church, a monastery was also built which is now a family home. St. Anthony’s church guards the oldest painting in Sućuraj which represents St. Paskal, Our Lady of Carmel and St. Rocco and was probably done by artisan Philip Nadia from the 18th century. The church also contains an archeological collection of amphorae and an anchor from a sunken Roman galley. Interestingly, there are two statues of St. Anthony here: St. Anthony of Padua (to whom the church dedicated id) and St. Anthony the Monk.


Fortica (the fort): Fortica was built in 1623 after the Ottomans looted and burned down the village 3 times. During the Venetian-Ottoman wars, Sućuraj was on the border of three countries: Venetian Republic (whom Sućuraj was a part of), Ottoman Empire (which held the coastline surrounding Makarska) and the Republic of Dubrovnik (which held the Pelješac peninsula). The fort was built in order to protect the port and the village, equipped with cannons and a standing military crew. The fort was seriously damaged in WWII during the Allied bombardment of Sućuraj in 1944, which resulted in complete destruction of the tower, the interior and a large part of the defense walls.


Sućuraj lighthouse: Built in 1889, this lighthouse is located on the most eastern peak of the island of Hvar, less than a kilometer from the town center. The lighthouse is surrounded on three sides by the sea, with rocky coast encircling the sea, just a few meters away. The light on the lighthouse was automated in the 1990’s, after which the lighthouse crew became expendable. Before that, the lighthouse keepers lived in the lighthouse with their families, especially those with children in school due to the vicinity of the town school. The lighthouse itself consists of a square stone tower and a building which has a ground floor and an attic. The lighthouse boasts a boat dock, a gazebo, and even a barbecue. The lighthouse is one of the signature landmarks of Sućuraj, and a popular spot for many photographers.


Source: TZ Sućuraj


Subscribe to our newsletter

the fields marked with * are required
Email: *
First name:
Last name:
Gender: Male Female
Please don't insert text in the box below!

Leave a Comment