Seven Euro Croatia Entry Fee When Crossing Croatian-BiH Border in 2023

Lauren Simmonds

Updated on:

Mostar, Bosnia and Herzegovina
Mostar, Bosnia and Herzegovina

As Poslovni Dnevnik writes, due to the upcoming introduction of the ETIAS system, an electronic application will have to be submitted for each entry into the European Union (EU), and while the process usually takes a few minutes, it can, in very rare cases, take thirty days. This new rule will also apply to the citizens of Serbia, Montenegro and Kosovo. But there are exceptions.

BiH citizens and residents could soon pay for each and every entry they make into the European Union, including the Republic of Croatia.

The European Travel Information and Authorisation System (ETIAS) system should be launched next year, which will mean new rules for entering Croatia. Before travelling to the EU, and as such neighbouring Croatia, BiH residents and citizens will have to fill out an electronic form and pay a one-time fee of seven euros before crossing the Croatian-BiH border, RTL reports.

The official EU website in Bosnia and Herzegovina states that residents and citizens of that country will have to fill in an online application form via the appropriate website or via the mobile application. If the person is unable to apply (due to theur age, literacy level, computer literacy or a lack of access to the required device), the application can be submitted by a third party. All applicants between the ages of 18 and 70 will have to pay an electronic fee of seven euros per application. Each positive application will be valid for three years, or until the travel document being used expires, whichever comes first.

A travel authorisation without which it will not be possible to cross the Croatian-BiH border in most cases will be issued within mere minutes of the application being submitted, and rarely, due to the additional verification of permits, a person may have to wait up to 30 days, but this will likely barely ever be the case.

The applicant may also appeal if they receive a rejection to their request to cross the Croatian-BiH border.

ETIAS was created following a November 2016 proposal for the establishment of a European travel information and authorisation system to strengthen security controls for visa-free travellers to the EU, which currently applies to citizens of more than 60 countries.

However, Croats living in BiH and holding Croatian citizenship, and those who have registered, legal residence in Croatia, will not have to pay to enter the country, while other citizens without any of the above will have to. Of course, entry into Croatia will also have to be paid for by the citizens of Serbia, Montenegro and Kosovo.

It’s important to note that British citizens, who were until recently EU citizens, will also have to pay to enter Croatia.

Those who have legal residence in Croatia under the Withdrawal Agreement (which means they are still treated as EU citizens as they exercised their right to free movement under the EU laws which once applied to them), will also not be subjected to ETIAS as long as they proactively show their residence/ID cards along with their valid passports when entering Croatia. This is especially the case for permanent residents.

For more, make sure to check out our travel section.


Subscribe to our newsletter

the fields marked with * are required
Email: *
First name:
Last name:
Gender: Male Female
Please don't insert text in the box below!

Leave a Comment