Nine Croatian MEPs Support European Commission, Kolakušić and Sinčić Against

Total Croatia News

ZAGREB, November 28, 2019 – Nine Croatian MEPs supported the new European Commission headed by Ursula von der Leyen, while two independent MEPs, Mislav Kolakušić and Vilibor Sinčić, voted against.

Of 707 lawmakers attending the plenary, the Commission won the support of 462, while 157 voted against and 89 abstained.

MEP Ruža Tomašić from the European Conservatives and Reformists Party (ECR) is not satisfied with most of von der Leyen’s programme.

“She got my vote simply for pragmatic reasons. Namely, I intend to work intensively with the commissioner for agriculture who is also in my parliamentary group, in an effort to improve Croatia’s agriculture. I also plan to successfully complete the multiannual plan for pelagic fish in the Adriatic, which is not possible without the Commission’s support,” said Tomašić.

Tonino Picula (SDP/S&D) congratulated the new Commission on receiving overwhelming support in the European Parliament and expressed his satisfaction that one of the Commission’s priorities was to continue enlargement to the Western Balkans.

More news about the European Parliament can be found in the Politics section.


Subscribe to our newsletter

the fields marked with * are required
Email: *
First name:
Last name:
Gender: Male Female
Please don't insert text in the box below!

Leave a Comment