And the Winner Is: HNS Awards Best in Croatian Football with Ceremony in Vukovar

Daniela Rogulj

0000023707 685 375 cut

On Thursday, the premiere ceremony of Croatian football was held in Vukovar, where the HNS trophy was awarded to lucky winners.

The first ‘Trophy’ awards ceremony of the Croatian Football Federation was held on June 7, 2018, at the Croatian House in Vukovar which saw the current European Champion with Real Madrid and captain of the Croatian national team, Luka Modrić, awarded as Croatia’s best footballer. Modrić was honored by the President of the Croatian Football Federation, Davor Šuker, and in competition against Modrić were footballers Andrej Kramarić (Hoffenheim), Dejan Lovren (Liverpool), Mario Mandžukić (Juventus) and Ivan Rakitić (Barcelona), announced on June 7, 2018. 

“Thanks to everyone who voted for me. I am glad to be the first winner of this award, and I hope that this award will become a traditional one in the future. We have achieved incredible things in Real Madrid and I am delighted to be part of that team. I can promise you that we will give it our all in Russia, to justify our expectations and the expectations of our fans. It is our honor to play for Croatia,” Modrić said.

0000023707 685 375 cut


Lovro Majer of Lokomotiva was awarded the best young footballer, and the best player of the Croatian First League was awarded to Dinamo’s El Arabi Hillal Soudani. The best goalkeeper of the Croatian Championship is Soudani’s teammate, Dominik Livaković, and the best coach was Rijeka’s Matjaž Kek. Varaždin’s Domagoj Drožđek was named the best in the Second League.

Croatia’s best female football player was awarded to Iva Landeka, the best futsal player was Dario Marinović, and the best First League referee was Ivan Bebek.

On this occasion, Croatian football TV organized a competition for the best defense and offense of the Croatian First League in the 2017/2018 competitive season. Hajduk goalkeeper Karlo Letica was awarded for best defense against Rijeka on August 12, 2017, and Osijek’s Petar Bočkaj was awarded for the best shot (also against Rijeka).

The 11 best players of the Croatian Championship by HNTV included Dominik Livaković, Borna Barišić, Zoran Nižić, Darijo Župarić, Josip Juranović, Arijan Ademi, Filip Bradarić, Lovro Majer, Hillal Soudani Heber Arauja dos Santosa and Mirko Ivanovski.

The premiere ceremony of Croatian football was attended by prominent figures such as Ivan Penava, mayor of Vukovar, and Osijek mayor Ivica Vrkić. The Croatia national team gathered at the Croatian House who also began their open training session in Vukovar and will play a friendly match against Senegal in Osijek on Friday. 


Subscribe to our newsletter

the fields marked with * are required
Email: *
First name:
Last name:
Gender: Male Female
Please don't insert text in the box below!

Leave a Comment