Luka Modric Named in FIFA FIFPro Men’s World11 for Fifth Season

Daniela Rogulj

Slobodan Kadic

September 24, 2019 – This year’s award ceremony of The Best, organized by the World Football Federation, was held in Milan. Croatia once again had a representative among the winners, as Luka Modric was included in the world’s best 11 footballers.

HNS and write that the captain of the Croatia national team is back in respectable company. Namely, Luka Modric has been re-elected as a member of the best team of the year!


Slobodan Kadic

The Real Madrid midfielder and the Croatia national team captain was selected among the best 11 in the competition of 50 footballers who entered the final vote.

Along with Messi, who was named the best footballer in the world, Modric was joined by Liverpool goalkeeper Alisson, who was also named the world’s best goalkeeper, Matthias de Ligt (Juventus), Marcelo (Real Madrid), Sergio Ramos (Real Madrid), and Virgil van Dijk (Liverpool) in the defense, midfielders Frenkie de Jong (Barcelona) and Eden Hazard (Real Madrid) and strikers Cristiano Ronaldo (Juventus) and Kylian Mbappe (PSG).

Modric has been selected in the top 11 players each year since FIFA independently organized the award, and has been in the top 11 since the 2014/15 season in FIFPro’s selection. Recall, Barcelona and Croatia midfielder Ivan Rakitic also made the prestigious selection of 50 nominees.


Slobodan Kadic

Lionel Messi won the title of the best footballer for the 2018/2019 season, succeeding Luka Modric who won the award the season before. Megan Rapinoe was named the best female player.

Jürgen Klopp was selected as the best coach in men’s football, while Jill Ellis received the same recognition in women’s football. The best male goalkeeper in the world was awarded to Alisson Becker, while the best female goalkeeper was awarded to Sari von Veenendaal.

The Ferenc Puskas Award for Best Value was given to Daniel Zsori, the fair play award went to Marcelo Bielsa and Leeds United, and the fan award went to Silvia Grecco and her son Nickollas.


Slobodan Kadic

The best women’s team selected for the first time included Sari van Veenendaal, Lucy Bronze, Nilla Fischer, Kelley O’Hara, Wendie Renard, Julie Ertz, Amandine Henry, Rose Lavelle, Marta, Alex Morgan, and Megan Rapinoe.

To read more about sport in Croatia, follow TCN’s dedicated page


Subscribe to our newsletter

the fields marked with * are required
Email: *
First name:
Last name:
Gender: Male Female
Please don't insert text in the box below!

Leave a Comment