Luka Modrić Named FIFA’s Best Men’s Player!

Daniela Rogulj

The FIFA Best Awards were held at Royal Festival Hall in London on Monday. 

September 24, 2018 – After winning the Golden Ball for being the best player at the World Cup, followed by the UEFA honor for best footballer in Europe, Luka Modrić has been named FIFA’s best men’s player in 2018!

Modrić was one of the final three contenders for the award, up against Cristiano Ronaldo and Mohamed Salah. 

FIFA’s ‘Best’ award returned in 2016 after it was awarded for six years in collaboration with the Ballon d’Or. The winner was selected by a vote split evenly between fans, journalists, national team coaches and national team captains. The winner was selected for their achievements between July 3, 2017, and July 15, 2018.

Cristiano Ronaldo, who was not in attendance tonight, has won the last three FIFA awards, while he and Messi have traded off winning the last ten before tonight. Messi, however, was not a finalist this time around. 

Modrić was also named in the FIFA FIFPro World 11 this evening. 

A look at Modrić’s achievements to date:

– FIFA Best Men’s Player in 2018

– FIFA FIFPro World 11 in 2018 

– UEFA Men’s Player of the Year in 2017/18

– Golden Ball at the World Cup in 2018

– Member of the best team of the World Cup in 2018

– Golden Ball at the Club World Cup in 2017

– Member of the best team of the world in 2017

– Third best playmaker in the world in 2017

– UEFA’s Best Midfielder in 2016/2017 and 2017/2018

– Member of UEFA Team of the Year in 2016 and 2017

– Second best player, Silver Ball, Club World Cup in 2016

– Member of La Liga’s best team in 2015/2016

– Member of FIFPro’s best team in the world in 2015, 2016, and 2017

– Best Midfielder in La Liga in 2013/2014 and 2015/2016

– Member of the best Champions League team in 2013/2014, 2015/2016, 2016/2017 and 2017/2018

– Best Tottenham player in 2010/2011

– Member of the best team at the Euro in 2008 

– Croatian Footballer of the Year in 2007, 2008, 2011, 2014, 2016. and 2017

– Football Oscar for Best Croatian Footballer in 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017 and 2018

– Best Croatian First League Player in 2007

– Hope of Croatia in 2004

– Best Player of Bosnia and Herzegovina Premier League in 2003

Zlatko Dalić was one of the finalists for FIFA’s Best Coach, though the award went to France national team coach Didier Deschamps.


Subscribe to our newsletter

the fields marked with * are required
Email: *
First name:
Last name:
Gender: Male Female
Please don't insert text in the box below!

Leave a Comment