Zlatko Dalic Announces Player List for Slovakia Qualifier in Rijeka

Daniela Rogulj

October 28, 2019 – Croatia welcomes their last Euro 2020 qualifier next month against Slovakia as the first team in the group. Zlatko Dalic has announced the player list. 

On Saturday, November 16, at 8:45 pm, Croatia and Slovakia will play their last Euro 2020 qualifier at Rujevica stadium in Rijeka. Three days later, a friendly against Georgia is scheduled in Pula.

The team will gather in Zagreb on November 11, where they will hold a charity dinner for the Vatreno Srce Foundation the same evening and will stay in Opatija from November 12 to prepare for the match against Slovakia at NK Rijeka’s stadium. 

On Monday, coach Zlatko Dalic announced the list for the upcoming qualifier, which features the return of two important players – Marseille stopper Duje Ćaleta-Car was called back to the national team for objective reasons, while striker Andrej Kramarić, who scored two goals after returning to the pitch just a week ago, has recovered from his injury.

There is no Domagoj Vida or Dejan Lovren on Dalić’s list, as they cannot compete against Slovakia due to yellow cards. The player list also includes four potential call-ups – Marko Rog, Filip Bradarić, Marin Leovac and Josip Juranović, who will be activated if the need arises before the first or second game.

“There is a big game ahead of us in Rijeka and I fully believe these players will respond to such a challenge in the right way. We will not be distracted by the match in Trnava, Slovakia is a very good team and can be a very dangerous opponent. Still, Croatia has higher quality, experience and the overwhelming ambition to cheered for as a nation like in Russia. With the support of the full stadium, I do not doubt a positive and successful finish to these qualifications,” said coach Zlatko Dalic.

Recall, Croatia topped Slovakia 4:0 in Trnava in September. 

List of players for Slovakia and Georgia:

Goalkeepers: Lovre Kalinić (Aston Villa), Dominik Livaković (Dinamo), Simon Sluga (Luton Town)

Defenders: Tin Jedvaj (Augsburg), Matej Mitrović (Club Brugge), Borna Barišić (Glasgow Rangers), Karlo Bartolec (Kobenhavn), Duje Ćaleta-Car (Marseille), Mile Škorić (Osijek), Dario Melnjak (Rizespor), Dino Perić (Dinamo)

Midfielders: Luka Modrić (Real Madrid), Ivan Rakitić (Barcelona), Mateo Kovačić (Chelsea), Marcelo Brozović (Inter), Milan Badelj (Fiorentina), Mario Pašalić (Atalanta), Nikola Vlašić (CSKA Moskva)

Attackers: Ivan Perišić (Bayern), Andrej Kramarić (Hoffenheim), Ante Rebić (Milan), Josip Brekalo (Wolfsburg), Bruno Petković (Dinamo), Mislav Oršić (Dinamo)

Call-ups: Marko Rog (Cagliari), Filip Bradarić (Hajduk), Marin Leovac (Dinamo), Josip Juranović (Hajduk)

Source: Gol.hr

To read more about sport in Croatia, follow TCN’s dedicated page


Subscribe to our newsletter

the fields marked with * are required
Email: *
First name:
Last name:
Gender: Male Female
Please don't insert text in the box below!

Leave a Comment