Sibenik-Knin and Zadar Counties No Longer on Germany’s Red List

Daniela Rogulj



October 1, 2020 –  Sibenik-Knin and Zadar counties are no longer on Germany’s red list for travel. 

HRTurizam reports that last night, the German Robert Koch Institute revised the list of countries that are on the red list, that is, high-risk countries for travel during the coronavirus pandemic.

What is important to point out is that Sibenik-Knin and Zadar counties are no longer on the red list, so it is now possible to travel to those Croatian counties.

The following counties are still on the red list in Germany: Brod-Posavina, Dubrovnik-Neretva, Lika-Senj, Pozega-Slavonia, Split-Dalmatia, and Virovitica-Podravina.

Declaring an area at risk means that those returning from high-risk countries on holiday must be tested for coronavirus and remain in self-isolation until they receive a negative test result.

Recall, on September 29, the Slovenian government adopted changes to the countries on the lists unsafe for travel during the corona era.

“The Government took note of the Assessment of the Epidemiological Situation in the European Union and the Schengen Area, the Balkans and selected Third Countries, the Assessment of the Epidemiological Situation in the Countries and the European Commission’s Re-open EU Recommendation, as well as the Criteria per 100,000 inhabitants by country prepared by the National Institute of Public Health. It assessed the professional justification of the restrictions from the Ordinance on ordering and implementing measures to prevent the spread of COVID-19 at border crossings at the external border, at checkpoints at internal borders, and in the Republic of Slovenia and decided that these restrictions should continue to apply,” said the Slovenian Government on its website.

Thus, the red list includes 16 EU Member States and the Schengen area, with only administrative units with a poor epidemiological picture and 114 third countries with an uneven distribution of infections.

Regarding Croatia, the red list now includes Brod-Posavina, Dubrovnik-Neretva, Lika-Senj, Pozega-Slavonia, Sibenik-Knin, Split-Dalmatia, Virovitica-Podravina and Zadar counties. 

The orange list now includes the Croatian counties bordering the country. This means that from these areas, Slovenia can be entered with a negative coronavirus test and without having to quarantine.

Serbia and Poland are on the green list again, together with Cyprus, Latvia, Lithuania, Liechtenstein, and Finland, while neighboring Italy has been withdrawn from the green list. 

For the latest travel info, bookmark our main travel info article, which is updated daily

Read the Croatian Travel Update in your language – now available in 24 languages

Join the Total Croatia Travel INFO Viber community.


Subscribe to our newsletter

the fields marked with * are required
Email: *
First name:
Last name:
Gender: Male Female
Please don't insert text in the box below!

Leave a Comment