MAGfestival Opens Tonight with Ars Longa at the Museum of Split

Daniela Rogulj

This year’s MAGfestival opens tonight, August 27th, at the City Museum of Split. At 20h, the brilliant ensemble Ars Longa, composed of top professional musicians Ana Benić (baroque flute), Stjepana Nodila (baroque oboe and block flute), Lee Sušanj Lujo (baroque cello), Linde Mravunac Fabijanić (harpsichord), and Monika Cerovčec (soprano) will take the stage.

The ensemble Ars Longa is the result of efforts by these professional musicians to connect their love of chamber music with their love of music from the 18th century – one of the richest and most diverse in the history of music.


Although most of the members are permanently employed and successful in the field of modern music (Ana is a solo flutist in the orchestra of the Opera Theatre in Zagreb, Lee a part of the State Symphony Orchestra of Radio and Television, and Linda a senior artistic associate accompanist at the Music Academy in Zagreb), all are equally active with baroque instruments, primarily in this ensemble. The newest member of the ensemble is oboist and flutist Stjepana Nodila, and a permanent member of the ensemble is the featured soprano Monika Cerovčec.


The first night of the festival will open with ‘Italian Baroque: From Venice to Naples’. Here is the program:

A. Corelli (1653rd to 1713th)

Trio Sonata in D Major, op.3, no. 2

Grave – Allegro – Adagio – Allegro

A. Vivaldi (1678th to 1741st)

cantata All` Ombra di sospetto, RV 678

for soprano, flute and continuo

D. GABRIELLI (1651st to 1690th)

Ricercar no. 3

T. Cecchini (1583rd to 1644th)

Sonata seconda

Sonata settima

F. Geminiani (1687th to 1762nd)

Sonata for flute and continuo in G minor,

Adagio – Allegro – Largo – Allegro

B. Galuppi (1706th-1785th)

Sonata for flute, oboe and continuo in G Major

Allegro moderato – Andante – Allegro

F. MANCINI (1,672th to 1,737th)

cantata Quanto e dolce quell`ardore

for soprano, oboe and continuo

A. Corelli

Trio Sonata in D minor, op.3, no. 5

Grave – Andante – Allegro – Largo – Allegro


The 7th MAGfestival – International Chamber Music Festival, is organized by the Association of Young Academic Musicians (MAG) and the Museum of Split. Sponsors of this extraordinary cultural and artistic event, which is traditionally held in the unique space of the Museum of Split, are the President of the Republic of Croatia Kolinda Grabar-Kitarović, Ministry of Culture, the City of Split, Tourist Board of the City of Split, and the Tourist Board of Split-Dalmatia County.


Like every year, visitors must purchase tickets for the concerts. All visitors to these events will have the opportunity to hear renowned Croatian and international chamber ensembles, as well as musicians from the wider area of ​​Split.


The ticket price includes a tour of the Museum of Split and the permanent exhibition of the Gallery Emanuel Vidović. Tickets for individual evenings are 40 kuna, and sets of tickets are available for the festival at a price of 100 kuna.


Tickets will be available to purchase at the front desk of the Museum of Split. All concerts start at 20h.


Subscribe to our newsletter

the fields marked with * are required
Email: *
First name:
Last name:
Gender: Male Female
Please don't insert text in the box below!

Leave a Comment