Two of Croatia’s Youngest Footballers Up for a Golden Award

Daniela Rogulj

A great honor for two young Croatian footballers: Alen Halilović and Ante Ćorić are among the 40 candidates chosen for this year’s “Golden Boy” award, put on by Italian newspaper Tuttosport.

The Golden Boy is an award that is given by sports journalists to a young football player playing in Europe, who is thought to have been the most impressive during a calendar year (two halves to two separate seasons.) All nominees must be under the age of 21 and play in a European nation’s top tier.


The award was established by Italian sports newspaper Tuttosport back in 2003, and the newspapers that now participate in voting include Bild (Germany), Blick (Switzerland), A Bola (Portugal), l’Équipe(France), France Football (France), Marca (Spain), Mundo Deportivo (Spain), Ta Nea (Greece), Sport Express (Russia), De Telegraaf (Netherlands), and The Times (United Kingdom).


For voting, each juror is allowed to nominate five players. The juror will then allocate points to each player with a specific point system: 10 points to the player they find most impressive, 7 for second, 5 third, 3 fourth, and 1 point for fifth most impressive.


Some of this year’s nominees are Dele Alli, Asensio, Kingsly Coman, Mousa Dembele, Ousmane Dembele, Donnarumma, Gabigol, Iwobi, Iheanacho, Rashford, Renato Sanches, and Leroy Sane.


Some previous “Golden Boy” winners (for reference) are Wayne Rooney (2004), Lionel Messi (2005), Paul Pogba (2013), and last year’s winner Anthony Martial (2015).


To vote for Croatian football’s future and the young sensations Alen Halilović and Ante Ćorić, you can VOTE HERE. So far, Donnarumma Gianluigi (Milan) is in the lead…




Subscribe to our newsletter

the fields marked with * are required
Email: *
First name:
Last name:
Gender: Male Female
Please don't insert text in the box below!

Leave a Comment