One of Dubrovnik’s most popular attractions is open once again!
Aside from walking the city walls, taking the cable car up to the top of Mt. Srdj and taking a billion photos of Stradun, the Rector’s Palace in the Old City of Dubrovnik is one of the most popular attractions for architecture lovers, photography lovers, history lovers and well… just about anyone.
The beautiful building located in the heart of the UNESCO World Heritage Site has been undergoing refurbishments and reconstruction for several months. The second phase, which has just been completed, was supposed to have been cleared up by the last day of May, but due to an accepted request to lengthen the time limit for works on the aesthetically stunning atrium of the palace, the eye-catching Gothic building remained closed until today.
Constructed on the site of a former Middle Age defence building that was devastated by a fire in 1435, the architecturally incredible building was constructed a typically Gothic style with both Baroque and Renaissance additions to it. It once proudly served (hence its name) as the seat of the Rector of the former autonomous Republic of Dubrovnik (Ragusa) between the 14th century and the demise of the Republic, following the invasion of and subsequent occupation by the Napoleonic army in the year 1808. It also served as the seat of the state administration and the Minor Council, housing a watch house, a prison, a powder magazine and an armoury.
The History Department of the Museum of Dubrovnik has operated within the palace since 1872, and, despite its closure owing to the recent works that have been ongoing since December 2016, it is now open once again!
You can visit the Historical Museum from 09:00 to 18:00.