Another EU Country Opens Doors to Croatian Workers

Lauren Simmonds

Another door is opened in the EU for Croatian workers.

As Poslovni Dnevnik/VLM writes on the 26th of February, 2018, following Croatia’s accession to the European Union back in 2013, restrictions on Croatian workers, which in very simple terms means that Croatian citizens still require work permits in order to work legally, have remained in force in thirteen EU countries.

Malta has now informed the European Commission of the abolition of labour market access restrictions for Croatian citizens. The deadline to do this was set fot the end of June, however Malta did so months ago.

This information was presented today by President Kolinda Grabar-Kitarović and her Maltese counterpart Marie Louise Coleiro Pre after their meeting at Pantovčak.

After the accession of a new member state, each and every member of the EU has the right to introduce a transitional period of labour market restrictions in the principle of 2 + 3 + 2 years.

In practice, this means that the decision must be reviewed after the expiration of each of the aforementioned periods.

After the first two years of Croatian membership, in the year 2015, eight EU countries fully opened their respective labour markets for workers from Croatia. The restrictions were then retained by Austria, Slovenia, the Netherlands, the United Kingdom and Malta.

As previously stated, Malta has now decided to lift their restrictions for Croatian workers, and other member states have to deliver their opinions by the end of June this year.


Subscribe to our newsletter

the fields marked with * are required
Email: *
First name:
Last name:
Gender: Male Female
Please don't insert text in the box below!

Leave a Comment