HDZ’s Ministers and Orešković Support Karamarko, MOST’s Ministers Vote Against Him

Total Croatia News

All MOST’s ministers decide to support MOST president and Deputy Prime Minister Božo Petrov.

The government has voted on Friday afternoon at a telephone session on SDP’s motion of no confidence against First Deputy Prime Minister and HDZ president Tomislav Karamarko, reports Večernji List on May 27, 2016.

According to unconfirmed reports, all HDZ’s ministers and Prime Minister Tihomir Orešković voted against the SDP’s motion and in favour of Karamarko.

All six ministers from MOST supported the position of MOST president and Deputy Prime Minister Božo Petrov and voted in favour of the SDP’s motion and against Karamarko. There were rumours throughout the day that two of MOST’s ministers might actually vote in favour of Karamarko, which would be a serious blow to Petrov, but obviously these were just political spins.

The ministers from MOST are: Economy Minister Tomislav Panenić, Administration Minister Dubravka Jurlina Alibegić, Justice Minister Ante Šprlje, Interior Minister Vlaho Orepić, Environmental Protection and Nature Minister Slaven Dobrović and Agriculture Minister Davor Romić.

Since HDZ ministers are in majority in the government, the support of the government as a whole to Karamarko was never in question.

The next crucial vote will take place by the middle of June in Parliament, where SDP’s motion of no confidence has to receive at least 76 votes to be adopted. The key issue is how many of MOST’s MPs will support the official party position that Karamarko must leave, and how many will change sides.


Subscribe to our newsletter

the fields marked with * are required
Email: *
First name:
Last name:
Gender: Male Female
Please don't insert text in the box below!

Leave a Comment