Special 25 Kuna Coin Issued to Mark 25th Anniversary

Total Croatia News

ZAGREB, June 2, 2019 – The Croatian National Bank (HNB) marked the 25th anniversary of the kuna as the national currency with a 25 kuna coin released in 30,000 copies.

The kuna became the official currency on 30 May 1994, then Statehood Day, replacing the Croatian dinar, which itself had replaced the Yugoslav dinar as a transitional currency after Croatia gained independence from the former Yugoslavia.

The Archaeological Museum in Zagreb is also marking the kuna’s 25th birthday with an exhibition which opened on May 30.

The HNB has issued the special 25 HRK coin on 14 occasions so far to commemorate events of special importance for Croatia.

The first one was issued on 28 May 1997 to mark the completion of the peaceful reintegration of Croatian territories under the UN Transitional Administration in Eastern Slavonia, Baranja and Western Sirmium and the restoration of Croatia’s territorial integrity.

The 25 kuna coins were also issued to mark the tenth anniversary of Croatia’s international recognition, the 25th anniversary of independence, the 25th anniversary of admission to the UN, the granting of EU membership candidate status, the signing of the EU accession treaty, the introduction of the euro in 11 member states in 2000, Croatia’s first participation in EXPO, in Lisbon in 1998, a European Bank for Reconstruction and Development assembly held in Zagreb, and the first Croatian Esperantists’ congress.

The HNB Council decided to issue the latest 25 coin kuna on May 7. The coin was designed by sculptor Damir Mataušić.

More news about the Croatian National Bank can be found in the Business section.


Subscribe to our newsletter

the fields marked with * are required
Email: *
First name:
Last name:
Gender: Male Female
Please don't insert text in the box below!

Leave a Comment